Books – Are They Always Better Than the Movies?

100 foot journeyAnyone who has a love of the written word, or works with and around books has probably thought, heard or said the following:

The movie was great but you should really read the book, it was way better.  The books are always better than the movies.”

Just another case in point why folks shouldn’t rule their lives by absolutes came in focus as I finished up The Hundred-Foot Journey by Richard Morais.  I was inspired to pick-up the book in the first place because it featured food, chefs, cooking food, eating food, foreign climes (India and France) and did I mention food? J

Imagine my disappointment when halfway through the book I was thinking “this isn’t at all what I thought it would be” and not in a good way.  The majority of the narrative was just SLOW and when the story did finally start to get interesting, it downshifted again.  Add to that, most of the characters just weren’t that sympathetic.  Perhaps my expectations were too high.  Or was I just not “getting” what the writer intended from his story?  Either way it was a letdown.  Another story full of promise relegated to my pile of “I’ve read better.”

This makes the fact that I borrowed the movie from the library seem a little odd.  But I’m glad that I gave it a second chance.  The film was full of color, life and humor.  You cared about the characters.  Better-yet, you actually liked the characters.  It was a totally different experience.  And it taught me that sometimes, as much as I don’t like to admit it, the movies are better than the books.

–AP

Leave a Reply

