Resources for Crafters

bibliocraft_bookAre there certain crafts or projects that you just keep putting off?

For me, it is altering a dress I just purchased. The problem is I don’t sew.  Not because I can’t, but because it’s just not the type of project I typically seek out. I’m more of an “instant gratification” crafter.  If a craft takes too long, I usually give up and there is a graveyard of unfinished projects to prove it.  Some of you probably know what I’m talking about.

But getting back to the subject, I know basically nothing when it comes to altering a dress or using sewing patterns and I don’t know anyone who can help me out.  So I turned to the library for help and was surprised to find so many how-to books on sewing! After browsing the shelves, I was able to find one that I believe will work.

So how about you?  Is there a project you would like to tackle but aren’t sure where to begin?  Try the library.  There are so many resources available to you.

Here are some books that you may find helpful.

BiblioCraft: A Modern Crafter’s Guide to Using Library Resources to Jumpstart Creative Projects by Jessica Pigza.  It is a neat book if you decide to pick it up.

Color Play by Joem Wolfrom

The Complete Photo Guide to Jewelry Making by Tammy Powley

Little Needle-Felt Animals by Gretel Parker

The Magic Pattern Book: Sew 6 Patterns into 36 Different Styles! by Amy Barickman

Stuffed Animals: From Concept to Construction by Abigail Patner Glassenberg

Urban Watercolor Sketching: A Guide to Drawing, Painting and Storytelling in Watercolor by Felix Scheinberger

Are there any resources you have found helpful?  Please share them with us.

-K

Leave a Reply

